Emotional Literacy

Emotional Literacy

Measure pupils' ability to understand and express feelings and highlight areas for intervention.

Developed by psychologists, this assessment uses stakeholder checklists – for the pupil, parent/carer and teacher – to discover a pupil’s strengths and challenges in five sub-scales of emotional literacy and, where necessary, highlighting areas for intervention: 

  • self-awareness
  • self-regulation
  • motivation
  • empathy 
  • social skills

Scores are provided for each of the sub-scales, as well as an overall emotional literacy score, with information about techniques to help you support pupils’ development, and specific activities to address each of the five sub-scales.

Emotional Literacy FAQs

Our Support Promise